Built in 1863, the Carreau du Temple is a covered market that used to be famous for clothes and garments trade, and between years 1950 and 1970 it gathered up to 1000 dealers. Recently the market declined in popularity and currently is under reconstruction. It is to be opened in 2013 as a multi-functional public venue.
The Carreau is situated on the former site of the enclosure of the Knights Templar and although it was erected in 1863, certain parts of it had already been constructed in 1788. In 1811 a wooden structure was erected on the site to house a permanent market, which was later replaced by the current cast iron, brick and glass structure. With time the place became a bustling trading site specialising in old clothes and garments. Between 1950 and 1970 the Carreau used to gather up to 1000 dealers and was visited by countless customers. With time, however, its popularity declined. In 1982 the building was registered as a historical monument. As part of a public consultation exercise undertaken in 2004, the local population voted that the Carreau should be redeveloped as polyvalent public space. The new Carreau, with glazed area instead of brick walls, is scheduled to reopen in 2013.