Stade Sebastien Charléty is a multi-use stadium with the capacity of 20,000 people. The stadium opened in 1938 and was designed by French architect Bernard Zehrfuss. It has hosted many matches during various Rugby League World Cups and is the current home of Paris FC which competes in the Championnat National (the third level of French football).
The stadium, also known as Stade Charléty, or just Charléty, is serving as the temporary home for the Stade Français rugby union club, starting in 2010-11 and running through 2012–13, while that club is building a new stadium at the site of its traditional home, Stade Jean-Bouin.
It was also a place of a non-sporting event – on May 27 1968, the meeting of the Union Nationale des Étudiants de France, one of the most important of the protests of that month, took place there, attracting between 30,000 and 50,000 people. The crowd, led by Pierre Mendès-France and Michel Rocard, shouted ‘Ce n’est qu’un début, continuons le combat!’ (‘This is only the beginning; let’s keep up the fight!’)