The name Citadella is used to address the citadel located on the strategic Gellért Hill. From the top of it, there is a panoramic view over the city, the Danube and its eight bridges. On the plateau and nearby are other points of interest like the Liberty Statue, Hotel Gellért, the Gellért Baths and the Gellért Hill Cave.
It occupies almost the entire 235-metre-high plateau. The fortress is a U-shaped structure built about a central courtyard, being 220 metres long, 60 metres wide, and 4 metres tall. It had a complement of sixty cannons.
The fortress was designed by Emánuel Zita and Ferenc Kasselik after the Hungarian Revolution of 1848, and built three years later by Julius Jacob von Haynau, a commander of the Habsburg Monarchy. In the Revolution of 1956, Soviet troops occupied the Citadella. Tanks fired down into the city during the assault that overthrew the Nagy-led government.
Actually built by Hungarian forced labourers, it was finished in 1854. In June 1854 Austrian troops settled in the citadel. After the Austro-Hungarian Compromise of 1867 and the establishment of Austria-Hungary, the Hungarians demanded the destruction of the citadel, but the garrison troops left only in 1897, when the main gate was symbolically damaged. It was not until late 1899 when the city took possession of the Citadella. A few months later, in 1900, the walls were demolished.