The Musée de l’Ordre de la Libération is a military museum dedicated to the Ordre de la Libération (Order of the Liberation), France’s second national order after the Légion d’honneur (Legion of Honour). It presents the history of the Free French Forces. Unfortunately, the museum is closed until June 2014 due to the renovation.
Order of the Liberation was created in 1940 by General Charles de Gaulle, leader of the Free French Forces. In 1967 de Gaulle moved the Order of the Liberation into Les Invalides. The museum contains three galleries and six rooms documenting the history of the Free French Forces, de Gaulle’s manuscripts, resistance activities, and the concentration camps. Showcases contain more than 4,000 objects including uniforms, weapons, clandestine press and leaflets, transmitters, flags taken from the enemy on the battlefields of Africa and Europe, the first naval flags of Free France, and relics from the camps. The hall of honour is dedicated to General de Gaulle.